The castle was built around 1554 by Gaspare Castiglione of Florence, who after marrying a Polish woman changed his name to Kacper Suski. In 1614, the surrounding properties and the castle was passed into the hands of the Komorowski family and the building was rebuilt in the mannerist style. The Wielopolscy family owed the castle from 1708, and it was when the castle gained some Baroque features.
The castle is situated at the foot of the Jasień Mountain and is the town's most interesting monument. Its beautiful courtyard is often compared to the one at Wawel. The two higher wings of the building have magnificent arcaded cloisters, and on the side there is a massive tower of 1614, in which the castle chapel is located. On the inside, the walls are decorated with unique murals and magnificent paintings, with patterns similar to those on fabric.
Before World War II, Anna Wielopolska's library was located in some of the castle's rooms. The collection of about 100,000 volumes were later given to the Jagiellonian Library in Kraków and Ossolińscy Library in Wrocław. In the small park surrounding the castle there is also a historic gardener's house and a conservatory.
ul Zamkowa 1
34-200 Sucha Beskidzka